Visa Information, Visa Requirements, Visa Application Guidelines, Immigration Rules and Inquiry


US Travel Ban

The scope of the ban is sketchy at the moment, but clearly stated is that:

  • The restrictions will take effect on February 22

  • Trump administration claims countries added to the list did not meet specific security criteria

  • Issuance of visas that can lead to permanent residency WILL be suspended

  • Non-immigrant visas (visit, business and student), designated refugees, and temporary workers are EXEMPT from the restrictions

  • 'Some' applicants will be able to apply for waivers from the restrictions

President Trump on Friday added six countries to his list of nations facing stringent travel restrictions, a move that will virtually block immigration from Africa’s most populous nation, Nigeria, and from Myanmar, where the Muslim minority is fleeing genocide.

Beside Nigeria, three other African countries, Eritrea, Sudan and Tanzania, will face varying degrees of restrictions, as will one former Soviet state, Kyrgyzstan. Myanmar’s Rohingya Muslims could also be caught in the crossfire.

All six countries have substantial Muslim populations. The total number of countries now on the restricted travel list stands at 13

The proclamation will take effect on Feb. 22. Immigrants who obtain visas before then will still be able to travel to the United States, officials said. Non-immigrant visas, including those for students and certain temporary workers, as well as visas reserved for potential employees with specialized skills, will not be affected by the ban.

Immigrants will be able to apply for waivers from the restrictions. The administration has said waivers are issued to those who would experience undue hardship if denied entry into the United States, although the process has been criticized as opaque.

The Trump administration justified the extended ban by saying the countries added to the list did not meet specific security criteria, such as proper identification of US visa applicants, or failed to share information with the US.
"It is fundamental to national security, and the height of common sense, that if a foreign nation wishes to receive the benefits of immigration and travel to the United States, it must satisfy basic security conditions," the White House said in a statement.
But advocates say the restrictions are the latest step in the Trump administration's plan to keep Muslims and other racialised people out of the US.

The US president promised during his election campaign to stop all Muslims from entering the country, and in 2018, Trump, in a discussion about protecting immigrants from Haiti, El Salvador and African countries, had asked: "Why are we having all these people from shithole countries come here?"

In the early days of his administration, Trump passed an executive order that barred citizens of seven Muslim-majority nations from the US, prompting protests at major airports and several court challenges.

The US Supreme Court eventually upheld an amended version of the order in 2018, and the ban remains in place for Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen, while some citizens of Venezuela and North Korea also face travel restrictions.

Administration officials cited national security concerns and said the countries listed don't meet U.S. standards for information sharing and document verification. The officials estimate as many as 13,000 prospective immigrants could be impacted, based on visa admission numbers from 2018.
“It seems to be more of an excuse to come out with something that looks strong rather really advancing the policy priorities of the administration,” said Jeff Gorsky, former chief legal adviser in the State Department visa office.


  1. Even though the travel ban only covers the immigrant visa application this will still be disadvantageous for the nations that are include in the ban. Immigration for these nation will be halted and they will be unable to participate in the visa lottery that US conduct yearly.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...